The unread message icons allow you to see at a glance where a new request/message exists within the system, which you have not yet read. These icons work on a 'per user' basis, and will therefore indicate the 'read status' for you specifically.
Under the 'Requests' heading in the left-hand menu, you will see a count of how many requests/messages are currently within the 'New' or 'Assigned to me or my groups' lists, which you have not yet read:
Clicking 'Requests' takes you to the request view:
The 'New' and 'Assigned to me or my groups' quick filters at the top of the screen will have red bubbles in the corner if there are messages within those lists which you have not yet read. Hovering over the red bubble on either filter will tell you how many unread messages there are within that list:
The requests which you have not yet read can be easily identified by the orange bubble icon, as below:
Clicking the message to view it will mark it as read, and once all unread messages have been viewed within a list, the icon at the top of the screen will no display the red bubble:
If all messages within the 'New' and 'Assigned to me or my groups' have been read by you, then the numbered icon on the left-hand menu will also disappear until another new request or message is received from a patient:
It's especially important to keep an eye on the unread message icon for requests which are 'Assigned to me or my groups', as requests created by the patient via a 'Custom button' may have automatically been assigned to you, without having first been reviewed by another member of the team.